Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar
    Adiar County Schools logo hover effect
    Adair County Primary School Logo hover effect
    Adair County Elementary School Logo hover effect
    Adair County Middle School Logo hover effect
    Adair High School logo hover effect

ACPC STLP Students Attend ISTE Conference in Chicago

Curriculum for Kids Made by Kids

Once again, the Adair County Primary Center's STLP students wowed their audience when they presented their award-winning, "Best in State STLP K-5" project, "Bus Safety for Everyone" at the international technology conference, ISTE, in Chicago, IL on June 26, 2018.  Visitors from as far away as South Africa and China and from all across the United States visited their booth to learn more about their project.  Keeping with the bus safety theme, the project consisted of a student-created bus safety video, board game, curriculum, an edible school bus treat, coloring page, and cheer.  The students also taught their peers at Adair County Primary Center a lesson on bus safety.  

The fourteen STLP students that worked on the project throughout the school year are Sallie Ballou, Keylin Bergin, Josie Blair, Bradyn Bottoms, Carter Curry, Maddy Judd, Ashley Loy, Claire Loy, Adelyn McMinoway, Jovie Ray, Summer Rowe, Chase St. Andrew, Trenton Stayton, and John Hunter Stotts. 

ACPC students at ISTE in Chicago, IL on June 26, 2018.

(Group Photo Credit:  Jason Rector)

From these, four presenters were chosen to present the project at regional and state competition and at the international conference.  The four presenters are Carter Curry, Ashley Loy, Claire Loy, and Adelyn McMinoway.  Sallie Ballou was the alternate presenter. 

ACPC PresentersACPC Presenters 2ACPC Presenters 3ACPC Presenters 4

(Presenter photos credit:  Carla Perkins)

The project and success would not have been possible without the outstanding leadership and guidance of Mrs. Laura Marcum, ACPC STLP sponsor.

Congratulations to the Adair County Primary Center's STLP students and Mrs. Laura Marcum for representing Adair County and the State of Kentucky so well at the ISTE Conference!

~Carla Perkins, DTC/CIO


Back to School News      Print News Article
Adair County Schools1204 Greensburg Street
Columbia, KY 42728

View Map & Directions
Phone: 270-384-2476
Fax: 270-384-5841